NASA settled a date of Mars mission

NASA settled a date of Mars mission

12.09.16

NASA settled new dates of InSight lander’s dispatching and arriving to Mars. The launch is scheduled for 5 May 2018 in order it will enter the Red Planet on 16 November 2018. Let us recall that InSight Mission had to start in March this year but was delayed due to seismometer problems.

InSight was designed to explore Mars land using tools of seismography, geodesy, and geothermal survey. It will examine Mars internal structure, density, thickness, dimension and constitution of the nucleus of the planet, as well as its mantles and crusts. Researchers are going to study tectonic and seismic activities. All data will be useful for planning future missions as well as for determining formation and evolution of rocky planets, such as Mars and Earth.

Research will generally involve the following:

  • SEIS – a seismometer, measuring tectonic activity;
  • HP3 – a mole, measuring warm flows under Mars surface;
  • RISE – a magnetometer, measuring Martian ionospheric disturbances influenced by sun.

NASA is planning to land InSight near a planetary equator to provide its solar batteries with energy. The lander will be on Mars a bit less than 2 years. The device won’t move across the planet, because of being stationary.

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Head of the project

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 128)

Yanina Volovyk

Yanina Volovyk

Conference Coordinator

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 79)

Pavel Piatkin

Pavel Piatkin

For Exhibitors and Sponsors

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (ext. 24)

Ekaterina Vasilyeva

Ekaterina Vasilyeva

Customer service support

e.vasilyeva@smileexpo.ru

+74951042422 (ext. 5054)

В NASA назначили новую дату марсианской миссии

В NASA назначили новую дату марсианской миссии

12.09.16

В NASA определили новые даты отправки и прибытия на Марс аппарата InSight. Планируют совершить запуск 5 мая 2018 года, чтобы уже 26 ноября того же года он прибыл на Красную планету. Напомним, что InSight Mission должна была стартовать в марте этого года, но из-за проблем в работе сейсмометра была отложена.

Аппарат InSight создан для исследования марсианской почвы с помощью инструментов сейсмографии, геодезии и терморазведки. Им будет исследована внутренняя структура Марса, плотность, толщина, размер и состав ядра планеты, а также ее мантии и коры. Планируется изучение тектонической и сейсмической активности. Все данные будут полезны для планирования будущих миссий, а также для выяснения того, как формировались и эволюционировали скалистые планеты, к которым относятся и Марс, и Земля.

Для исследований в основном будут использованы:

  • SEIS – сейсмометр, измеряющий тектоническую активность;
  • HP3 – зонд, измеряющий тепловые потоки под марсианской поверхностью;
  • RISE – магнетометр, измеряющий возмущения марсианской ионосферы под солнечным воздействием.

Посадить InSight планируют в районе экватора планеты для обеспечения энергией его солнечных батарей. Пробудет аппарат на Марсе чуть менее 2 лет. Передвигаться по Марсу устройство не будет, поскольку является стационарным.

Екатерина Ткаченко

Екатерина Ткаченко

Руководитель проекта

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 128)

Янина Воловик

Янина Воловик

Куратор конференции

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 79)

Павел Пяткин

Павел Пяткин

По работе с экспонентами и спонсорами

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (доб. 24)