A robot to be sent to the ISS to communicate with Vkontakte users in 2017

A robot to be sent to the ISS to communicate with Vkontakte users in 2017

13.10.16

The Roscosmos State Corporation has signed an agreement with social network Vkontakte to launch a robot named Spotty to the ISS in 2017. The robot will communicate with cosmonauts and transfer information to the Earth. It is planned that the robot will have a spherical shape, and the image of social network’s mascot – puppy Spotty.

Spotty will stay on the ISS for approximately 10 years. It will be equipped with a camera and projector to broadcast the communication with the crew of the ISS in the convenient format. Materials obtained by the robot will be available in the specially created for this purpose community on Vkontakte. Network users will also get an opportunity to ask cosmonauts questions with the help of Spotty.

The robot will be sent on board the Soyuz spacecraft together with new crew members of the ISS: Russian cosmonaut Fyodor Yurchikhin, American Jack Fischer and Italian Paolo Nespoli. Spotty will film prelaunch trainings of the crew and their stay on the space station. When required, electronic “crew member” will be disconnected for the people not to feel themselves as if they were starring in the Behind the Glass TV show, and to have some private life.

The Roscosmos Corporation is not planning to take money for launching the robot to the orbit. Its representatives state that the main reason and aim of collaboration with Vkontakte is the promotion of cosmonautics among Russian people.

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Head of the project

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 128)

Yanina Volovyk

Yanina Volovyk

Conference Coordinator

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 79)

Pavel Piatkin

Pavel Piatkin

For Exhibitors and Sponsors

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (ext. 24)

Ekaterina Vasilyeva

Ekaterina Vasilyeva

Customer service support

e.vasilyeva@smileexpo.ru

+74951042422 (ext. 5054)

В 2017 году на МКС отправят робота для общения с пользователями «ВКонтакте»

В 2017 году на МКС отправят робота для общения с пользователями «ВКонтакте»

13.10.16

Государственная корпорация «Роскосмос» заключила договор с социальной сетью «ВКонтакте» об отправке в 2017 году на МКС робота под названием «Спотти», который будет общаться с космонавтами и передавать информацию на Землю. Роботу планируется придать шарообразную форму с изображением на корпусе маскота социальной сети – щенка Спотти.

Ориентировочная длительность пребывания «Спотти» на МКС – 10 лет. Его оснастят камерой и проектором, чтобы в удобном формате транслировать общение с обитателями МКС. Полученные роботом материалы будут доступны в специально созданном для этого сообществе во «ВКонтакте». Пользователи сети также получат возможность задавать космонавтам вопросы с помощью «Спотти».

Доставят робота на корабле «Союз» вместе с новыми членами экипажа МКС: россиянином Федором Юрчихиным, американцем Джеком Фишером и итальянцем Паоло Несполи. «Спотти» будет снимать на видео предполетные тренировки экипажа и, собственно, их пребывание на космической станции. При необходимости электронный «член экипажа» будет отключаться, чтобы люди не чувствовали себя участниками шоу «За стеклом» и имели частную жизнь.

Корпорация «Роскосмос» не планирует брать плату за отправку робота на орбиту. По заявлениям ее представителей, главной причиной и целью сотрудничества с компанией «ВКонтакте» служит популяризация космонавтики среди российских граждан.

Екатерина Ткаченко

Екатерина Ткаченко

Руководитель проекта

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 128)

Янина Воловик

Янина Воловик

Куратор конференции

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 79)

Павел Пяткин

Павел Пяткин

По работе с экспонентами и спонсорами

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (доб. 24)