3 March

Moscow, CC "Technopolis"

INSPACE FORUM 2017

International forum

of commercial space industry

Lost Indian satellite found on the Moon orbit 8 years later

Lost Indian satellite found on the Moon orbit 8 years later

14.03.17

The first Indian unmanned lunar probe “Chandrayaan-1” was launched in October 2008. The contact with it was lost in 2009. Experts thought that the satellite had fallen down on the lunar surface but they were wrong.

On March 14, NASA specialists detected the space vehicle on the Moon orbit. They used several telescopes: experts were trying to find the satellite by generating radio waves in the direction of its possible location.

It appeared that “Chandrayaan-1” is still on the orbit 200 km away from the lunar surface. It wasn’t easy to find it: the station has the form of a cube 1.5 meters on each side. Moreover, NASA discovered American Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter – but it was less difficult because scientists were privy to its orbit.

According to NASA, their technology will play an essential role in the future space missions – both for estimating the probability of collision with launched objects and solving the problem of navigation and connection.

Пропавший индийский спутник обнаружили на лунной орбите спустя 8 лет

Пропавший индийский спутник обнаружили на лунной орбите спустя 8 лет

14.03.17

В октябре 2008-го к Луне была запущена первая автоматическая индийская станция «Чандраян-1». В 2009-м связь с ней была утеряна. Эксперты предполагали, что спутник давно упал на поверхность Луны, но это оказалось не так.

14 марта специалисты NASA обнаружили аппарат на лунной орбите. Для этого они объединили несколько телескопов: посылая радиоволны в направлении предполагаемого нахождения спутника, эксперты пытались обнаружить отраженные им волны.

Оказалось, что «Чандраян-1» до сих пор находится на орбите на расстоянии 200 км от поверхности Луны. Найти его было непросто: станция представляет собой куб со стороной 1,5 м. Помимо этого, NASA обнаружило также американский Лунный орбитальный зонд — но эта задача была проще, так как ученые располагали сведениями о его орбите.

По словам NASA, их технология сыграет важную роль в будущих космических миссиях — как для оценки вероятности столкновения с уже выведенными объектами, так и для решения проблем с навигацией и связью.

Екатерина Ткаченко

Екатерина Ткаченко

Руководитель проекта

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 128)

Янина Воловик

Янина Воловик

Куратор конференции

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 79)

Павел Пяткин

Павел Пяткин

По работе с экспонентами и спонсорами

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (доб. 24)