Why Falcon Heavy launch was historically important for space industry?

Why Falcon Heavy launch was historically important for space industry?

08.02.18

In 2011, SpaceX CEO Elon Musk first announced his plan to create a heavy carrier rocket. The launch of the device was postponed for 5 years, and only in 2018 this idea was brought to life. We’ll tell you what’s so special about Falcon Heavy and what are the results of its launch.


 

Falcon Heavy. What is it?

The main idea of ​​the rocket is in its name: basically, it’s a heavier model of the Falcon 9. It consists of three connected accelerators. This structure gives the rocket a huge lifting power. If the first stage of the Falcon 9 had nine engines, their total number in the new rocket is 27. This is the first in history example of a carrier rocket with so many engines.

inSpace Forum: Why Falcon Heavy launch was historically important for space industry? 1

inSpace Forum: Why Falcon Heavy launch was historically important for space industry? 2

Why Falcon Heavy is considered the most powerful rocket?

The rocket develops 2.27 million kilograms of propulsive power at launch. This allows putting almost 64 kg of cargo into near-earth orbit. Roughly speaking, the more power the device has, the more it can deliver to space. Falcon Heavy power is the most impressive one among all existing carrier rockets.

Cost of the rocket launch

The cost of launching Heavy is about $90 million. This is a relatively low price for this type of rocket. For example, the launch of the next in power Delta IV Heavy will cost $350 million, according to the manufacturer and developer United Launch Alliance. Besides, this rocket can send into orbit only ½ of the cargo Falcon Heavy can.

Launch results

The test flight was postponed for 5 years due to the complex structure of the craft. But on February 6 at 22:45, Falcon Heavy was successfully launched.

The company managed to successfully launch the rocket, and land two side accelerators on the LZ-1 and LZ-2 platforms of Kennedy Space Center. By the way, they were already sent to space prior to this.

There is no information about the main SpaceX stage, as of now. Representatives of the company did not confirm a successful landing. It is known that the craft successfully re-started the engines for the landing, but in the process, communication with the device was lost.

A launch with a bit of fun

Since this was a test launch, there was no serious cargo. But Elon could not perform this important event in the history of the space industry without a twist. A Tesla Roadster car was placed under the spacecraft nose cone, with an astronaut mannequin in a SpaceX space suit “driving” it. During the launch, the car speakers were playing a David Bowie’s Life on Mars. Among other features – a special panel with names of all employees of the company underneath the electric car.

 

Subscribe to the news of inSpace Forum in FacebookVK and Twitter!

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Head of the project

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 128)

Yanina Volovyk

Yanina Volovyk

Conference Coordinator

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 79)

Pavel Piatkin

Pavel Piatkin

For Exhibitors and Sponsors

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (ext. 24)

Ekaterina Vasilyeva

Ekaterina Vasilyeva

Customer service support

e.vasilyeva@smileexpo.ru

+74951042422 (ext. 5054)

21 марта

Москва

INSPACE FORUM 2018

Международный форум

по коммерческой космонавтике

и БПЛА

Почему запуск Falcon Heavy стал исторически важным в космической индустрии?

Почему запуск Falcon Heavy стал исторически важным в космической индустрии?

08.02.18

В 2011 году генеральный директор SpaceX Илон Маск впервые заявил о том, что планирует создать тяжелую ракету-носитель. Запуск аппарата откладывался на протяжении 5 лет, и только в 2018 году эта идея реализовалась. О том, чем особенна Falcon Heavy и каковы результаты ее запуска, – в нашем материале.

 

Falcon Heavy. Что это?

Основная задумка ракеты изложена в ее названии: в целом это более тяжелая модель Falcon 9. Аппарат состоит из трех ускорителей, которые связаны воедино. Такая структура дает ракете огромную подъемную силу. Если же на первой ступени Falcon 9 было девять двигателей, то в новой ракете их суммарное количество составляет 27. В истории это первый пример ракеты-носителя с таким количеством двигателей.

inSpace Forum: Pochemu zapusk Falcon Heavy stal istoricheski vajnim v kosmicheskoi industrii 1

inSpace Forum: Pochemu zapusk Falcon Heavy stal istoricheski vajnim v kosmicheskoi industrii 2

Почему Falcon Heavy считается самой мощной ракетой?

Ракета развивает 2,27 миллиона килограммов тяги на старте. Благодаря этому есть возможность вывода на околоземную орбиту практически 64 кг груза. Грубо говоря, чем больше мощность аппарата – тем больший груз он сможет доставить в космос. Мощность Falcon Heavy пока самая внушительная среди всех существующих ракет-носителей.

Стоимость запуска ракеты

Стоимость запуска Heavy составляет около 90 миллионов долларов. Это сравнительно невысокая цена как для такого типа ракеты. К примеру, запуск следующей по мощности Delta IV Heavy обойдется в 350 миллионов долларов, согласно данным производителя-разработчика United Launch Alliance. К тому же эта ракета может отправить на орбиту только ½ от груза, который по силам Falcon Heavy.

Результаты запуска

Тестовый полет откладывали на протяжении 5 лет из-за сложной структуры аппарата. Но 6 февраля в 22:45 Falcon Heavy была успешно запущена.

Компании удалось удачно и запустить ракету, и посадить на землю два боковых ускорителя на площадки LZ-1 и LZ-2 Космоцентра Кеннеди. К слову, ранее их уже отправляли в космос.

Информации об основной ступени от SpaceX пока нет. Представители компании не подтвердили успешную посадку. Известно то, что она удачно осуществила повторный запуск двигателей для выхода на посадку, но в процессе связь с устройством прервалась.

Запуск не без юмора

Так как запуск ракеты был тестовым, серьезного груза там не было. Но Илон не мог без изюминки совершить это важное событие в истории космической индустрии. На борту под носовыми обтекателями был помещен автомобиль Tesla Roadster. В качестве водителя сидел манекен астронавта в скафандре SpaceX. В процессе запуска из колонок авто играла песня Девида Боуи – Life on Mars. Из других особенностей – наличие под электромобилем специальной панели с ФИО всех работников компании.

 

Подписывайтесь на новости inSpace Forum в FacebookVK и Twitter!

Екатерина Ткаченко

Екатерина Ткаченко

Руководитель проекта

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.ru

+74952121128 (доб. 128)

Янина Воловик

Янина Воловик

Куратор конференции

y.volovyk@smileexpo.ru

+74952121128 (доб. 79)

Марина Ноздрина

Марина Ноздрина

PR

m.nozdrina@smileexpo.ru

+74952121128 (доб. 16)

Павел Пяткин

Павел Пяткин

По работе с экспонентами и спонсорами

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.ru

+74952121128 (доб. 24)

Екатерина Васильева

Екатерина Васильева

Менеджер по работе с посетителями

e.vasilyeva@smileexpo.ru

+74951042422 (доб. 5054)