NASA Implements a Unique Project on Space Research

NASA Implements a Unique Project on Space Research

19.09.16

Last week, the NASA space agency for the first time ever sent a specialized research unit for a thorough examination of outer space. OSIRIS-REx was launched into space to study the asteroid Bennu, rotating around the sun.

OSIRIS-REx mission is to take samples of the asteroid soil and deliver them to our planet for the further study. The project will last for seven years. It is expected that the unit will catch up the asteroid in 2018; in two years, it will be able to fulfil its task and it will come back by 2023.

Launch of AtlasV, a carrier rocket of OSIRIS-REx, was conducted accurately according to the plan. The rocket was launched at 19:05 local time from the spaceport at Cape Canaveral. Upon separation of the first AtlasV’s stage, a Centaur engine started to operate. Around 20:04, OSIRIS-REx separated from its carrier and went to the asteroid. According to the NASA experts, there was a perfect, almost cloudless weather during the rocket launch, which certainly contributed to the successful launch.

This scientific apparatus is equipped with cameras, a laser meter, spectrometers and other instruments that will allow it to fulfil its mission. A robotic arm will perform capture of soil. The NASA representatives plan to collect up to 2 kg of soil with the help of scientific apparatus.

A unique project aimed to study outer space cost about $ 1 billion. Well, let's hope that this device will successfully complete its mission and will come back to the Earth with a valuable cargo on the board in seven years. 

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Head of the project

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 128)

Yanina Volovyk

Yanina Volovyk

Conference Coordinator

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 79)

Pavel Piatkin

Pavel Piatkin

For Exhibitors and Sponsors

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (ext. 24)

Ekaterina Vasilyeva

Ekaterina Vasilyeva

Customer service support

e.vasilyeva@smileexpo.ru

+74951042422 (ext. 5054)

NASA реализовало уникальный проект по исследованию космического пространства

NASA реализовало уникальный проект по исследованию космического пространства

19.09.16

На прошлой неделе космическое агентство NASA впервые отправило специализированный научный аппарат для тщательного изучения космического пространства. OSIRIS-REx был выведен в открытый космос для исследования астероида Бенну, вращающегося вокруг Солнца.

Миссия OSIRIS-REx состоит в том, чтобы взять образцы астероидного грунта и доставить их на нашу планету для последующего изучения. Проект рассчитан на семь лет. Ожидается, что аппарат уже в 2018 году догонит астероид, за два года сумеет выполнить своё задание и к 2023 году вернётся обратно.

Запуск Atlas V – ракеты-носителя OSIRIS-REx – прошёл чётко по плану. Ракета стартовала в 19:05 по местному времени с космодрома на мысе Канаверал. После того как от Atlas V отделилась первая ступень, заработал двигатель Centaur. Около 20:04 OSIRIS-REx отделился от своего носителя и отправился к астероиду. По словам специалистов NASA, при запуске ракеты стояла отличная, практически безоблачная погода, что, несомненно, способствовало успешному старту.

Научный аппарат оснащён фотокамерами, лазерным измерителем высоты, спектрометрами и другими приборами, которые позволят ему выполнить свою миссию. Захват грунта будет выполняться за счёт роботизированной руки. Представители NASA планируют собрать с помощью научного аппарата до 2 кг грунта.

Уникальный проект по изучению космического пространства стоил агентству около $1 миллиарда. Что же, будем надеяться, что аппарат успешно завершит свою миссию и через семь лет вернётся на Землю с ценным грузом на борту. 

Екатерина Ткаченко

Екатерина Ткаченко

Руководитель проекта

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 128)

Янина Воловик

Янина Воловик

Куратор конференции

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 79)

Павел Пяткин

Павел Пяткин

По работе с экспонентами и спонсорами

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (доб. 24)