3 March

Москва, КЦ "Технополис"

INSPACE FORUM 2017

Международный форум

по коммерческой космонавтике

NASA has presented an animation of Martian clouds scoot

NASA has presented an animation of Martian clouds scoot

14.08.17

Curiosity Mars rover took pictures of Martian clouds scoot and posted the time-lapse on the NASA official website. As reported by the administration, these Martian clouds turned the clearest during the period of overall Curiosity activity.

Red Planet atmospheric pressure is about 100 times lower than on Earth. Notwithstanding, Mars still has ice-crystal clouds. They appear at the altitude of 10-30 km and higher, which makes them look similar to silvered clouds on our planet. Besides, Earth clouds emerge at the high of 80 km (in mesosphere layers) and reflect sunrays creating sunset and sunrise shining.

InSpace Forum: NASA has presented an animation of Martian clouds scoot - 1

At the dawn of July 17, Mars rover conducted the last photo shoot. Red Planet had two months remaining to aphelion (the most distant point in an orbit around the Sun). Normally, clouds can be observed a bit earlier but this time they appeared as early as never, according to the scientists. Moreover, not long before the noon, the clouds disappeared.

Curiosity has embarked on its mission on August 5, 2012. It is equipped with a drill and a spectrometer to investigate the chemical composition of Mars. Besides, the rover has also detected perchlorates that enable the liquid water existence on the planet. Salt only, however.

3 марта

Москва, КЦ "Технополис"

INSPACE FORUM 2017

Международный форум

по коммерческой космонавтике

NASA представило анимацию движения марсианских облаков

NASA представило анимацию движения марсианских облаков

14.08.17

Марсоход Curiosity заснял движение облаков на Марсе, таймлапс которых опубликован на официальном сайте NASA. По словам ведомства, это были наиболее ясные марсианские облака за время деятельности Curiosity.

Атмосферное давление Красной планеты приблизительно в 100 раз ниже по сравнению с земным. Тем не менее, на Марсе всё равно есть облака, которые состоят из кристалликов льда. Они рождаются на высоте 10-30 км и выше, что придаёт им сходство с серебристыми облаками нашей планеты. В свою очередь, земные облака появляются на высоте 80 км (в слоях мезосферы), отражают солнечные лучи, тем самым создавая закатное или предрассветное свечение.

InSpace Forum: NASA представило анимацию движения марсианских облаков - 1

Последнюю «фотосессию» марсоход сделал 17 июля на рассвете. Красной планете оставалось два месяца до достижения афелия (наиболее удалённой от Солнца точки орбиты). Как правило, облака появляются незадолго до вхождения в него, но учёные отметили, что в этот раз они возникли необычайно рано. Причём ближе к полудню облака уже исчезли.

Свою миссию Curiosity начал 5 августа 2012 года. Он оснащён буром и спектрометрами, которые позволяют изучить химический состав поверхности Марса. Кроме прочего, марсоход выявил перхлораты – по словам учёных, благодаря им на планете может существовать жидкая вода. Правда, только солёная.