NASA and artificial intelligence from Google found a mini model of our solar system in space

NASA and artificial intelligence from Google found a mini model of our solar system in space

19.12.17

NASA Kepler Space Telescope has found the eighth planet near the star Kepler-90, that resembles the sun. The star is located within 2545 light years from the earth. Before, people did not know about the existence of another star system consisting of eight planets apart from ours.

Artificial intelligence from Google helped to find the new star system. Machine learning algorithm is trained to define possible planets based on the data from the telescope. Usually such discoveries are made thanks to the smallest changes in the brightness of the star. If a planet orbits the star and passes the stellar disc at the visual angle, it is a great luck for astronomers, as it allows detecting the planet.

Astronomer Andrew Vanderburg notes that the revealed system resembles a mini model of our solar system. Small planets are located closer to the star and big planets lie further. All planets are located much closer to each other.

 

Subscribe to the news of inSpace Forum in FacebookVK and Twitter!

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Head of the project

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 128)

Yanina Volovyk

Yanina Volovyk

Conference Coordinator

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 79)

Pavel Piatkin

Pavel Piatkin

For Exhibitors and Sponsors

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (ext. 24)

NASA и ИИ от Google нашли в космосе мини-модель Солнечной системы

NASA и ИИ от Google нашли в космосе мини-модель Солнечной системы

19.12.17

Космический телескоп NASA Kepler Space Telescope нашел 8-ю планету около космического тела Kepler-90, которое по характеристикам похоже на Солнце. Звезда расположена за 2545 световых лет от Земли. До этого события было известно о существовании другой системы звезд, состоящей из 8 планет, помимо нашей.

Отыскать новую Солнечную систему телескопу помог ИИ от Google. Алгоритм натренирован определять возможные планеты, основываясь на информации от телескопа. Чаще всего подобного рода открытиям способствуют наименьшие изменения яркости космического тела. Если планета совершает оборот вокруг него так, чтобы под углом наблюдения оказаться на фоне его диска, это означает большую удачу для астрономов, так как позволяет зафиксировать ее.

Астроном Эндрю Вандербург отмечает, что найденная система напоминает мини-модель нашей. Небольшие объекты находятся ближе к звезде, а крупные – подальше. Также все космические тела расположены немного «компактнее».

 

Подписывайтесь на новости inSpace Forum в FacebookVK и Twitter!

Екатерина Ткаченко

Екатерина Ткаченко

Руководитель проекта

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 128)

Янина Воловик

Янина Воловик

Куратор конференции

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 79)

Павел Пяткин

Павел Пяткин

По работе с экспонентами и спонсорами

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (доб. 24)

Екатерина Васильева

Екатерина Васильева

Менеджер по работе с посетителями

e.vasilyeva@smileexpo.ru

+74951042422 (доб. 5054)