Space tourism

Space tourism

17.11.16

Space tourism – trips to space and earth orbit for entertainment and scientific purposes.

The idea of commercial space flights was in the air in the 1960s, but the first attempt to send a nonprofessional cosmonaut to orbit was made only in 1986. This day became a tragedy for the USA and the whole world – space shuttle Challenger exploded during its launch with passengers on board.

The first successful launches of commercial cosmonauts were made to the Soviet orbital station Mir in 1990-1991. In total, 7 flights were made at that time.

Nowadays, flights are organized only to the International Space Station. The flight lasts for 7-10 days, out of which the tourist spends not fewer than 6 days on board of the ISS. The cost of such a trip exceeds $30 million. A new service emerged in 2013 – a spacewalk, which costs over $15 million.

Naturally, only the richest people of the world can afford flying to the ISS now. The day, when tourist space flights become as common as, let’s say, inter-city trips, is not even looming on the horizon. To achieve it, the space tourism market has to move to a new level, which requires using new technologies that would reduce the cost of the flight.

But even if you have extra $30-40 million stacked in your pockets, it does not mean that you will go into space for sure. Flight organizers, Roskosmos and Space Adventures, hold responsibility for the tourist, that’s why he has to undergo a medical check to confirm that all necessary health indicators are fine.

Flights to the ISS are organized in several steps:

  • Medical check;
  • Training and preparation;
  • Up to 10 days in flight, including the delivery to the ISS and back to the Earth;
  • Delivery of cargo to the ISS, used for conducting research by the tourist (if required);
  • Extravehicular excursion for additional fee;
  • Rehabilitation after the flight.

Space investments and space tour operators

It’s difficult to foresee the successfulness of the space tourism sphere. Therefore, investors have to take the risk. Nevertheless, round 80% of private investors, willing to invest in space programs, are ready to sponsor projects dedicated to the space tourism development.

Private individual investors actively participate in financing space tourism. Things are simpler with them, as unlike the government and enterprises they can personally manage funds and don’t depend on anyone when sponsoring such projects.

Today, investors are considering three directions in terms of space tourism:

  • Commercial trips to the Moon – another attractive branch for cash investments. The European Space Agency, similarly to NASA, has long-term plans in this respect. A moon base intended for four people must be ready by 2030. The Agency is reviewing the possibility to use 3D printing for the purposes of its creation. The organization is expecting that Russia, China, Japan, and India will participate in the construction of the first space base.
  • Such big investors as Dylan Taylor actively invest in suborbital flights. They have not been performed yet, but there are already over 600 volunteers willing to find themselves on the boundary of stratosphere and open space. The total flight time is 2.5 hours, out of which the tourist will spend 5-6 minutes in a zero-gravity environment.
  • One of the projects financed by Taylor is a flight on board of high-altitude air balloon, designed by World View company. He also collaborates with Golden Strike company that is planning to send people to the Moon.
  • Virgin Galactic company intends to become the first tour operator to organize not only suborbital but also orbital space flights. Back in 2004, multi-billionaire Richard Branson, founder of many startups, bought out the technology used for Space Ship 1 construction, and opened Virgin Galactic on the very same day.

Despite the high cost of space trips, there was no trouble in gathering the first team of space tourists. In total, over 1000 people have paid for the tickets – all crews are staffed until 2018.

In fact, space tourism exists largely on paper and in minds of those investors who want not only to make profit but also to advance humanity.

Realization of such projects goes slow, as far as this sphere, like space exploration in general, is virtually a greenfield. Therefore, forecasting the development of a specific project is a vague task. For the same reason, only prosperous companies and individuals can invest in space tourism, being ready to wait for years or maybe decades for the project to pay off and start bringing profits.

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Head of the project

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 128)

Yanina Volovyk

Yanina Volovyk

Conference Coordinator

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 79)

Pavel Piatkin

Pavel Piatkin

For Exhibitors and Sponsors

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (ext. 24)

Ekaterina Vasilyeva

Ekaterina Vasilyeva

Customer service support

e.vasilyeva@smileexpo.ru

+74951042422 (ext. 5054)

Космический туризм

Космический туризм

17.11.16

Космический туризм – выход в космос и на околоземную орбиту в развлекательных или научных целях.

Идея коммерческих полетов в космос витала в воздухе уже в 60-х годах прошлого века, но первая попытка отправить непрофессионального космонавта на орбиту состоялась только в 1986 г. Этот день стал трагическим для США и всего мира – шаттл «Челленджер» взорвался при запуске вместе со всеми пассажирами.

Первые успешные запуски коммерческих космонавтов состоялись в 1990-1991 гг. на советскую орбитальную станцию «Мир». Всего таких полетов было 7.

В настоящее время полеты осуществляются только на Международную космическую станцию. Продолжительность путешествия – 7-10 дней, из которых на борту МКС турист проводит не менее 6 дней. Стоимость такого путешествия – от $30 млн. В 2013 г. появилась новая услуга – выход в открытый космос, – которая обойдется в $15 млн и больше.

Естественно, слетать на МКС могут пока только самые богатые люди планеты. День, когда туристические полеты в космос станут таким же обычным явлением, как, скажем, междугородние рейсы, пока даже не маячит на горизонте. Для этого необходимо, чтобы рынок космического туризма вышел на новый уровень, а это включает в первую очередь применение новых технологий, которые бы удешевили организацию полета.

Но даже если в вашем кармане завалялись лишние $30-40 миллионов, это не значит, что вы гарантированно отправитесь в космос. Организаторы тура, «Роскосмос» и Space Adventures, несут ответственность за туриста, поэтому он должен пройти медицинское обследование, которое подтвердит, что все необходимые показатели здоровья в норме.

Организация полета на МКС проходит в несколько этапов:

  • Медицинское обследование.
  • Обучение и подготовка.
  • До 10 дней полета, включая доставку людей на МКС и обратно на Землю.
  • Доставка на МКС груза, необходимого туристу для проведения исследований (если необходимо).
  • Выход в открытый космос за дополнительную оплату.
  • Реабилитация после полета.

Инвестиции в космос и космические туроператоры

Полеты людей в космос – область, успешность которой сейчас трудно предугадать, поэтому инвесторам приходится идти на риск. Тем не менее, около 80% частных инвесторов, намеренных вкладывать деньги в космические программы, готовы спонсировать проекты по развитию космического туризма.

В финансировании космического туризма активное участие принимают частные индивидуальные инвесторы. С ними все обстоит проще, так как в отличие от правительств и предприятий, они могут самостоятельно распоряжаться своими средствами и не зависят от кого-либо в вопросах спонсирования подобных проектов.

Сейчас инвесторы рассматривают три направления в рамках космического туризма:

  • Коммерческие туры на Луну – еще одна перспективная отрасль для денежных вложений. Европейское космическое агентство, равно как и NASA, имеет далеко идущие планы на этот счет. К 2030 г. лунная база на четырех человек уже должна быть готова. Для ее возведения компания всерьез рассматривает применение 3D-принтера. Организация рассчитывает, что в создании первой космической базы примут участие Россия, Китай, Япония, Индия.
  • Крупные инвесторы вроде Дилана Тейлора активно вкладывают деньги в суборбитальные полеты. Они пока еще не осуществляются, но уже есть более 600 желающих очутиться на границе стратосферы и открытого космоса. Время полета – 2,5 часа, из которых в невесомости турист проведет 5-6 минут.
  • Один из проектов, которые финансирует Тейлор, – полет на борту высотного воздушного шара, который разрабатывается компанией World View. Также он сотрудничает с компанией Golden Strike, которая собирается отправлять людей на Луну.
  • Компания Virgin Galactic намерена стать первым туроператором, который будет организовывать не только суборбитальные, но и орбитальные космические полеты. Еще в 2004 г. мультимиллиардер Ричард Брэнсон, основатель множества стартапов, выкупил технологию, которая лежала в основе корабля Space Ship 1, и в тот же день открыл компанию Virgin Galactic.

Несмотря на высокую стоимость выхода в космос, набрать команду первых космических туристов не составило труда. Всего уже более 1000 человек оплатили билеты – все экипажи укомплектованы до 2018 года.

По большому счету космический туризм пока существует преимущественно на бумаге и мыслях инвесторов, желающих не просто получать прибыль, но и двигать человечество вперед.

Реализация подобных проектов проходит медленно, так как эта область, как и освоение космоса в целом, – практически непаханая целина. Поэтому предсказать успешность того или иного проекта – дело туманное. По этой же причине инвестировать в космический туризм могут только довольно богатые компании и отдельные лица, которые готовы годами, а то и десятилетиями ждать, когда проект окупится и начнет приносить прибыль.

Екатерина Ткаченко

Екатерина Ткаченко

Руководитель проекта

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 128)

Янина Воловик

Янина Воловик

Куратор конференции

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 79)

Павел Пяткин

Павел Пяткин

По работе с экспонентами и спонсорами

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (доб. 24)

Екатерина Васильева

Екатерина Васильева

Менеджер по работе с посетителями

e.vasilyeva@smileexpo.ru

+74951042422 (доб. 5054)