Private space exploration in Russia: spaceport purchase, robot launch to Alpha Centauri, and superlight rockets

Private space exploration in Russia: spaceport purchase, robot launch to Alpha Centauri, and superlight rockets

23.04.18

Private space exploration is related to not only Elon Musk, Richard Branson, and Jeff Bezos. Russia has its own major players and small companies focusing on the space industry, RBK reports.

In particular, on April 17, S7 Group (Russia’s first commercial company providing a full range of space launching services) acquired the Sea Launch spaceport. Its last rocket launch was conducted in 2014. The low intensity of launches made the spaceport stop their operations. According to Sergey Sopov, the CEO of S7 Group and a participant of Space Forum 2018, the spaceport purchase is the company’s entrance ticket to the space.

Besides, Russia started the Breakthrough Initiatives program at a cost of $100 million under the patronage of technological investor Yuri Milner in 2015. It is aimed at finding extraterrestrial life and bringing the robot to the Alpha Centauri system within 20 years.

Near Voronezh, two entrepreneurs – Viktor Chernikov and Nikolay Dzis-Voynarovskiy – are constructing Russia’s first private space manufacturing factory to produce ultralight rockets. It is planned that the territory will include a construction office, a production hangar, and a separate building for testing a new liquid rocket engine.

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Ekaterina Tkachenko

Head of the project

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 128)

Yanina Volovyk

Yanina Volovyk

Conference Coordinator

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (ext. 79)

Pavel Piatkin

Pavel Piatkin

For Exhibitors and Sponsors

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (ext. 24)

Частная космонавтика в России: покупка космодрома, запуск робота к Альфе Центавра и сверхлегкие ракеты

Частная космонавтика в России: покупка космодрома, запуск робота к Альфе Центавра и сверхлегкие ракеты

23.04.18

Частная космонавтика – это не только Илон Маск, Ричард Брэнсон и Джефф Безос. В России есть свои крупные игроки и небольшие компании, которые делают ставку на космическую отрасль, пишет РБК.

В частности, 17 апреля первая в РФ коммерческая компания S7 Group, которая предоставляет полный цикл услуг по запускам космических аппаратов, приобрела космодром «Морской старт». В последний раз с него взлетала ракета еще в 2014 году. Низкая интенсивность запусков привела к тому, что космодром был вынужден остановить работу. По словам генерального директора S7 Group, участника InSpace Forum 2018 Сергея Сопова, покупка космодрома является входным билетом в космос для компании.

Кроме того, в России с 2015 года под патронажем технологического инвестора Юрия Мильнера действует программа Breakthrough Initiatives стоимостью $100 млн. Ее главная цель – найти внеземную жизнь и доставить робота к системе Альфа Центавра в течение 20 лет.

Под Воронежем двое предпринимателей – Виктор Черников и Николай Дзись-Войнаровский – строят первый в России частный завод космической промышленности, на котором развернется производство сверхлегких ракет. Планируется, что на территории будет находиться конструкторское бюро, производственный ангар и отдельное здание для испытаний нового жидкостного ракетного двигателя.

Екатерина Ткаченко

Екатерина Ткаченко

Руководитель проекта

e.tkachenko@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 128)

Янина Воловик

Янина Воловик

Куратор конференции

y.volovik@smileexpo.org

+74952121128 (доб. 79)

Павел Пяткин

Павел Пяткин

По работе с экспонентами и спонсорами

p.pyatkin@smileexpo.sale

+74952121128 (доб. 24)

Екатерина Васильева

Екатерина Васильева

Менеджер по работе с посетителями

e.vasilyeva@smileexpo.ru

+74951042422 (доб. 5054)